An Adana court has handed down prison sentences varying between 7 years 6 months and 9 years to  4 journalists on charges of membership in the Gülen group, accused by the Turkish government of masterminding a failed coup attempt in July 2016, the Hürriyet daily reported.

During the fourth hearing of the trial at the Adana 4th High Criminal Court, journalists Mustafa Naim Yalçınel, Aytekin Gezici and Yüksel Evsenwere were given a prison sentence of 9 years each, while Abdullah Özyurt was given prison sentences of 7 years, 6 months.

Adana-based journalists Gezici and  Özyurt were arrested on July 25, 2016 as part of an investigation into the Gülen group.

Related News