Prime Minister Binali Yıldırım has admitted that the “State of Emergency commission” was established to prevent the victims of post-coup violations from taking their cases to the European Court of Human Rights (ECtHR).

Government decree numbered 685, one of the four decrees issued on Jan. 23, formed “Commission to Investigate State of Emergency Matters” to solve judicial cases filed against state institutions by those dismissed from state jobs, expelled from schools, retired personnel whose ranks downgraded and also owners and personnel of closed institutions, associations, trusts, syndicates, federations, confederations, private medical, educational, media institutions, including TVs, newspapers, radios, news agencies, magazines and distribution agencies.

“With this commission, we created a legal way for objections. We created an objection commission upon the possibility that these cases would be appealed at ECtHR,” Yıldırım said on Thursday.”

Kerem Altıparmak, a human rights lawyer and political science professor at Ankara University, earlier said that the formation of the commission aims to prevent human rights violation cases against the government at the ECtHR.

The commission consist of 7 members, of which 5 of them are to be appointed by the cabinet ministers while the remaining 2 by Supreme Board of Judges and Prosecutors (HSYK). According to the decree, the commission will operate for a period of 2 years.

“It means at least 250 cases in a day that has to be handled by the commission…it is not possible to handle all those cases that quick and just,” Altıparmak said.

Exhaustion of local remedies is a must for one to appeal to ECtHR.