A video shared by the Yarın news portal shows the moment a group of university students being beaten by security staff at Ankara’s Gazi University campus.

Students were reportedly attacked while they were protesting a recent government proposal to establish 20 new universities across Turkey while dividing some of the existing universities.

Among the universities determined to be divided are Gazi University, Sakarya University, Anadolu University, Süleyman Demirel University and Afyon Kocatepe University.