Turkey’s Higher Education Council (YOK) has cancelled accreditations of 29 universities in 17 countries as such institutions are blacklisted as part of the government’s profiling activities against the Gulen movement.

The movement stands accused of masterminding the July 15 coup attempt while it denies any organizational involvement.

“Diplomas from these universities are no longer acceptable in Turkey,” pro-government Yeni Safak daily newspaper said in mid-January.

6 universities in the US, 3 in Austria and Poland each, 2 in Iraq, Albania and Colombia each were affected from the change which also implicated one university in each of the following countries: Turkmenistan, Azerbaijan, Indonesia, Nigeria, Cambodia, Belgium, Romania, Kirgizstan, Kazakhstan, Georgia and Bosnia.

Brussels-based Dutch news outlet Het Laatste Nieuws said on April 4 that one KU Leuven graduate in Belgium had her application for recognition of her diploma refused as YOK claimed in a refusal letter that the university supports terrorism.

KU Leuven University collaborates with the Intercultureel Dialoog Platform, an association affiliated with the Gulen movement, as part of research activities.

Turkey has survived a military coup attempt on July 15 coup attempt and an ensuing crackdown against perceived coup supporters has resulted in 7,317 academics having lost their jobs and 2,099 schools, dormitories and universities shut down by the government.